Find the right AI agent
for the job.
New agent tools ranked by what they're actually good for, with a short verdict on each. Rankings are earned, never bought.
Browse by use case
New this week
Releases and updates from the last two weeks. Verdicts are provisional until we've tested the tool ourselves.
Agent building Score: provisional Tested: no Released 14 Oct 2026
Verdict: A useful debugging release for teams running crews in production: the new eval command targets the hardest question, where a run went wrong. Mostly fixes otherwise.
Test notes: Not tested: the verdict is based on the linked public release notes only.
Pricing: Open source
Agent building Score: provisional Tested: no Released 14 Oct 2026
Verdict: A strong pick for TypeScript teams that need agents to run code in sandboxes. The new Factory pieces matter most if you run many sandboxed sessions.
Test notes: Not tested: the verdict is based on the linked public release notes only.
Pricing: Open source
Coding agents & IDE assistants Score: provisional Tested: no Released 14 Oct 2026
Verdict: A careful, approval-first coding agent and an easy pick for VS Code users who want to try another model. It's early-stage: desktop apps and a CLI haven't shipped yet.
Test notes: Not tested: it needs an account, a paid plan or a heavy local setup. The verdict is based on the linked public sources only.
Pricing: Free extension; usage billed via API key
Source:
vani.ai · Last checked 14 Oct 2026 Coding agents & IDE assistants Score: provisional Tested: no Released 13 Oct 2026
Verdict: A maintenance release: mostly model-catalog and default changes. Check your model selection after updating, since defaults changed for many providers.
Test notes: Not tested: the verdict is based on the linked public release notes only.
Pricing: Open source (you pay for model usage)
Agent building Score: provisional Tested: no Released 13 Oct 2026
Verdict: Worth a look if you're building multi-agent workflows for security operations. Its README positions it as a SecOps platform, not a general-purpose framework. We checked the repo and release notes but didn't install it (it needs uv, Node 22, and agent-browser).
Test notes: Not tested: it needs an account, a paid plan or a heavy local setup. The verdict is based on the linked public sources only.
Pricing: Open source
Coding agents & IDE assistants Score: provisional Tested: no Released 13 Oct 2026
Verdict: It's the new model to try for long refactors and migrations if you already pay for Copilot or AI Ultra. Access on lower Copilot tiers is limited.
Test notes: Not tested: it needs an account, a paid plan or a heavy local setup. The verdict is based on the linked public sources only.
Pricing: Paid (Gemini API paid tier, AI Ultra, Copilot Pro+ and up)
Agent building Score: provisional Tested: no Released 13 Oct 2026
Verdict: A solid release if you build on Google's stack: human-in-the-loop approvals and tool-output filtering are practical safety controls. The 40% speed-up is Google's own claim; we haven't measured it.
Test notes: Not tested: the verdict is based on the linked public release notes only.
Pricing: Open source
Video Score: provisional Tested: no Released 13 Oct 2026
Verdict: A good pick for short social clips with sound built in. The duration cap makes it a clip tool, not a storytelling tool.
Test notes: Not tested: it needs an account, a paid plan or a heavy local setup. The verdict is based on the linked public sources only.
Pricing: 50% off on Civitai through October (base price not stated in source)
Agent building Score: 7.7/10 Tested: yes (15 Oct 2026) Released 13 Oct 2026
Verdict: The cleanest typed-Python agent framework we've tried. In our offline test, tool calls and structured output worked on the first run with no API key, using the built-in TestModel. Live-model quality isn't tested yet.
Test notes: Hand-tested on 15 Oct 2026: installed pydantic-ai-slim==2.56.0 into a clean Python 3.13 venv, built an agent with one tool and a typed Pydantic output, and ran it with the built-in offline TestModel (no API key). The tool was called and a validated structured output came back in about 0.01 s. Downside: it prints a large observability/Logfire banner on run unless PYDANTIC_AI_NO_BANNER=1. Not yet run against a live LLM, so output quality is scored conservatively.
Pricing: Open source
Support & sales agents Score: provisional Tested: no Released 13 Oct 2026
Verdict: It's for e-commerce brands, not solo builders.
Test notes: Not tested: it needs an account, a paid plan or a heavy local setup. The verdict is based on the linked public sources only.
Pricing: Demo-led (pricing not stated)
Agent building Score: provisional Tested: no Released 12 Oct 2026
Verdict: Interesting if you want to wrap the Claude and Codex agent SDKs in a durable, multi-replica service. Niche for simple single-process agents.
Test notes: Not tested: the verdict is based on the linked public release notes only.
Pricing: Open source
Coding agents & IDE assistants Score: provisional Tested: no Released 12 Oct 2026
Verdict: A strong new contender for heavy, multi-file agent work. The best version sits behind the Power and Maximum Usage plans.
Test notes: Not tested: it needs an account, a paid plan or a heavy local setup. The verdict is based on the linked public sources only.
Pricing: API $4/$20 per 1M tokens; Full via subscription
Video Score: provisional Tested: no Released 9 Oct 2026
Verdict: The clearest "agent as the editor" take on business video so far. It's aimed at explainers and marketing, not cinematic work.
Test notes: Not tested: it needs an account, a paid plan or a heavy local setup. The verdict is based on the linked public sources only.
Pricing: Credit-based; launch credits for every customer
Coding agents & IDE assistants Score: provisional Tested: no Released 8 Oct 2026
Verdict: Worktree support is the headline: it makes running parallel agent tasks on one repo cleaner. Worth updating if you run Codex on several tasks at once.
Test notes: Not tested: the verdict is based on the linked public release notes only.
Pricing: Open source (needs a ChatGPT plan or API key)
Agent building Score: 7.2/10 Tested: yes (14 Oct 2026) Released 7 Oct 2026
Verdict: A small but useful release for anyone building skill-based subagent setups on LangGraph. In our hands-on smoke test it installed cleanly and ran out of the box, and the new skill pinning is in the code. Live-model quality isn't tested yet.
Test notes: Hand-tested on 14 Oct 2026: installed deepagents==0.7.23 from PyPI into a clean Python 3.13 venv, built an agent with create_deep_agent(), and ran it end to end against an offline stand-in model (no API key). It installed and ran cleanly, and pinned_skills is present in the skills/subagent middleware. Not yet run against a live LLM on our standard task, so output quality is scored conservatively.
Pricing: Open source
Video Score: provisional Tested: no Released 7 Oct 2026
Verdict: High-end quality at a low per-second price for creators who need reference consistency. It's still a preview.
Test notes: Not tested: it needs an account, a paid plan or a heavy local setup. The verdict is based on the linked public sources only.
Pricing: From $0.014 per second (launch pricing)
Video Score: provisional Tested: no Released 7 Oct 2026
Verdict: Interesting for agent pipelines thanks to the CLI. Its planned HiDream-O1-Video model integration hasn't shipped yet.
Test notes: Not tested: it needs an account, a paid plan or a heavy local setup. The verdict is based on the linked public sources only.
Pricing: Not stated in source
Agent building Score: provisional Tested: no Released 2 Oct 2026
Verdict: A patch release with no new features. Listed for completeness; update when convenient.
Test notes: Not tested: the verdict is based on the linked public release notes only.
Pricing: Open source
AgentPick Weekly
The week's new agent tools with a verdict on each, every week. Free. We'll email you a link to confirm, and you can unsubscribe any time. See our Privacy Policy.